Igwe sworn in as Anambra PDP chairman

A reputable engineer and grassroots politician, Engr Chigozie Igwe, has been sworn-in as the Anambra State Chairman of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

Igwe and twenty others were inaugurated as new State Caretaker Executive Committee members on Wednesday in a brief ceremony that was conducted by the Zonal leadership of the party at their South East zonal Secretariat in Enugu.

In his acceptance speech, Igwe commended the National Working Committee of the party led by Amb. Umar Damagun whose action conveyed a message of hope towards rejigging the fortunes of the party in Anambra state. 

He also thanked the founding fathers of PDP and all stakeholders at various levels of the party’s structure including the Zonal leadership led by Chief Alli Odefa whose immense contributions have sustained the progress of the party. 

He said, ‘This appointment is an operation to return Anambra to PDP. It is a call to duty which we must administer with due diligence, truth, equity and Justice. We know that the challenges are enormous but we are prepared to conquer with special support of our eminent elders and stakeholders whose sacrifices have enabled this initiative. We will not disappoint them but will carry everybody along to achieve the desired results’. 

He further maintained that Anambra state remains a traditional stronghold of PDP waiting for activation of the people’s commitments through a leadership that is determined to re-ignite and re-new it’s people oriented social contract that will give a pride of place in governance to Ndi Anambra. ‘That is one of our primary objectives’ he posited.

Earlier, the South East Zonal Chairman of the party, Chief Alli Odefa charged the new Exco to uphold the manifestos and ethos guiding the PDP which according to him lies solely on internal democracy and practice of democratic tenets for the good of the people.

The Members of the Anambra State PDP Caretaker Committee are;

1. Engr. Chigozie Igwe – Chairman

2. ⁠Chukwudi Innocent Nweke – Member

3. Ezinne Patricia Uju Onyia – Member

4. ⁠Barr. Onuigbo Ndubuisi – Member 

5. Barr. Ikechukwu Chukwudelu – Member 

6. Chukwudi Okoye – Member 

7. ⁠Hon. Chief Ezeobi Okpala – Member

8. ⁠Cmr. Okey Asolo – Member

9. Barr. Jude Oguejiofor – Member

10. Hon. Echezona Agba – Member

11. ⁠Promise Okongwu – Member

12. ⁠Dr. Obumneme Nnoli – Member

13. ⁠Hon. Remignu Okeke – Member 

14. Ebere Onukwo – Member

15. ⁠Williams Obiora – Member 

16. Ndu Ikokwu – Member 

17. Barr. Ugochukwu Adileje – Member

18. Onyeka Okeke – Member

19. Nze Nath Uforali – Member

20. Dr. I.G. Ngini – Member

21. Barr. Clem Ezika – Member/Secretary


Recommended For You

About the Author: Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *