Just in: At last, six LP lawmakers defect to PDP

Governor Peter Mbah of Enugu State (middle) welcome six LP lawmakers after they defected to PDP on Thursday

No fewer than six Labour Party (LP) members of the Enugu State House of Assembly have officially defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The lawmakers had attempted to defect last Sunday in an elaborate that was abruptly ended with people being asked leave Okpara Square, proposed venue of the event.

However, on Thursday during plenary at the state House of assembly complex, the lawmakers made their defection known in a letter read by the speaker, Hon. Uche Ugwu.

Accordong to the speaker, the defecting members include: Mr. Ejike Nwa Nsukka, (Igbo-Eze North 1); Mr. Johnson Ugwu (Enugu North); Ms. Princess Ugwu  (Enugu South Rural); Mr. Pius Onyeka Ezugwu (Nsukka West); Mr. Williams T. Amuka  (Igbo-Etiti East) and Mr. Osita Eze (Oji River).

While continuing with the letter, the speaker said that the defectors’, defection was as a result of the “existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the Labour Party at the national level and across all the state chapters.

“Regrettably, the party has evolved into state of perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles thereby undermining its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people.

“The Labour Party once a beacon of hope for progressive ideas have regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of electorate”.

They cited the cases of Abure and Apapa factions as well as the national treasurer as some of the divisions within the party.


Recommended For You

About the Author: Admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *